navigation-background arrow-down-circle Reply Icon Show More Heart Delete Icon Warning wiki-circle wiki-square wiki arrow-up-circle add-circle add-square add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up back-arrow arrow-right calendar-circle chat-bubble-2 chat-bubble check-circle check close contact-us credit-card drag menu email embed facebook-circle facebook-square facebook faq-circle faq film gear google-circle google-square google history home instagram-circle instagram-square instagram linkedin-circle linkedin-square linkedin load monitor Video Player Play Icon person location pinterest-circle pinterest-square pinterest play readlist remove-circle remove-square remove search share sign-out star tag trailer trash twitter-circle twitter-square twitter youtube-circle youtube-square youtube

AFL Honors Off the Field Performances and Official of the Year

August 25, 2017
PHILADELPHIA  – The Arena Football League has announced the winners of the Front Office/Support Staff of the Year, Sports Medicine Team of the Year, Equipment Manager of the Year and Official of the Year. The  Arena Awards will be held tonight at Wells Fargo Center beginning at 4:30 p.m. ET  and can be streamed on  AFLNow  ( or the AFL App on iOS or Android) with host Jon Meterparel.
Front Office/Support Staff of the Year: Monumental Sports & Entertainment
The Front Office/Supports Staff of the Year award was given to Monumental Sports & Entertainment and the front office staffs of the Washington Valor and Baltimore Brigade. This award recognizes the entirety of the front office supports including; public relations, sponsorship, ticketing, football operations and management. Monumental Sports & Entertainment is led by Ted Leonsis (Founder, Chairman, Majority Owner and Chief Executive Officer). The staff includes: Roger Mody (Managing Partner), Jim Van Stone (President), Peter Biché (Chief Financial Officer), Zach Leonsis (Vice President and General Manager of Monumental Sports Network), Grant Hastings (Director of Business Development) and Jeff Bowler (Vice President of Business Operations).
Sports Medicine Team of the Year: Tampa Bay Storm
The Sports Medicine Team of the Year recognizes team’s head athletic trainer Leigh Baker, medical director Hadi Shah and chiropractor Dr. Susan Welsh for their work on the prevention, management, treatment and rehabilitation of their athletes.
Equipment Manager of the Year: Brent Overholt, Cleveland Gladiators
Brent Overholt just completed his first-season with the Cleveland Gladiators as their equipment manager. Overholt is responsible for every aspect of the Gladiators team needs; equipment requests for the team, point person for visiting teams when they arrive through their departure, reports to officials on game day, responsible for practice field setup and take down are among the many duties served.
Official of the Year: Kenny Leffle
Kenny Leffle will be completing his eighth season in the Arena Football League as he will serve as the head linesman in ArenaBowl XXX.
“I am honored and humbled to have received this award. Like in every team sport, I owe all my success to the great crew I worked on with Dave Cutaia, Al Granado, Terri Valenti and Michael Griffith. Working side-by-side with one another allowed us to achieve a new level of success.”
Saturday, August 26 at 7:00 p.m. ET – Wells Fargo Center (Philadelphia, Pa.)
#2 Tampa Bay Storm (10-4; 1-0) at #1 Philadelphia Soul (13-1; 1-0)
AFLNow, Twitter and 6abc (Philadelphia Only)
The Arena Football League is now in its 30 th  Anniversary Season in 2017. Since its inception in 1987, the Arena Football League has showcased a fast-paced and exciting game to millions of fans in a myriad of markets across the country. Teams slated for 2017 include: Baltimore, Cleveland, Philadelphia, Tampa Bay and Washington D.C.  CBS Sports Network nationally broadcasts AFL games each week during the regular season. ArenaBowl XXX takes place on Saturday, August 26 and can be seen on AFLNow and Twitter. For all the latest news and discussion on the Arena Football League, follow the AFL on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram (@aflarenaball).